Ryan Cheale

Thanks for voting for me guys, been a blast!

Favourite Thing: Taking trips abroad for conferences and research!



School: Bushfield Community College (Alevels). University: Royal Holloway University London (MSci)


Alevels – Math (A), Physics (B), Media (A). Degree: 2:1 MSci Physics.

Work History:

I’ve worked at Tesco as a cashier, waited tables at a hotel, worked a Security job at university.

Current Job:

Just the PhD!


Royal Society

Me and my work

I look at really old galaxies

My Typical Day

Get in, read the news, start the days work, lunch/gym, finish off work.. home!

I work around sport a lot. I get in and pop to the gym for an early morning session (though this could be at 10am!) once back in the office I make a start on some work. I take breaks every hour for 10 or so minutes to either chat to friends or browse Reddit!

At lunch I eat at my desk if I’ve been in the gym in the morning else I go down to the cafeteria with the rest of the PhD students.

Post lunch is often continuing the morning work or reading journal papers.

Home time is determined by either my workload or when I have to go and train, can vary between 3pm and 7pm.

What I'd do with the money

Outreach event showing what life as a PhD student is like!

The event would be focused on the idea of showcasing what PhD students are like. In conjunction with the Outreach team in place running events where you can join in with a PhD student and follow some of their day!

This would allow an insight of what happens post university and hopefully encourage to carry science forward.



My Interview

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Motivated. Energetic. Sporty.

Who is your favourite singer or band?

Maroon 5!

What's your favourite food?


What is the most fun thing you've done?

Colour Run.. Paint thrown at me whilst running a short route!

What did you want to be after you left school?

A Scientist!

Were you ever in trouble at school?

I got kicked out for a week, I got changed in the hallway in front of my principle!

What was your favourite subject at school?


What's the best thing you've done as a scientist?

Travelling around the world attending events and doing research

What or who inspired you to become a scientist?

My grandfather

If you weren't a scientist, what would you be?

Either a professional athlete or a fireman!

If you had 3 wishes for yourself what would they be? - be honest!

Wish one would be; to be bilingual. Wish two; have my own farm! Wish three; bring back pluto to planet status!

Tell us a joke.

A farmer was in the field with his cows and counted 196 of them, but when he rounded them up he had 200.

Other stuff

Work photos: